Clio for Clients: Law Firm Actions

Have more questions? Submit a request

Send messages or documents

With Clio for Clients, you can send your clients messages and shared documents or document folders via the Clio Manage web or mobile app. Your client will receive one email notification for all messages or documents sent within a one-minute time frame.

When your client responds or uploads a document, you and other firm member participants will receive one notification each for all items sent within a one-minute time frame. Email notifications cannot be disabled. You can also see when your client opens an unread message or document.

Note: Documents added to previously shared folders will automatically be shared with clients. This means that if you share a folder with a client and then later add more documents to the folder, your client will have access to all the documents in the folder, including the recently added documents.

Send message and documentSend existing document

Follow the directions below to send a document when composing a message.

  1. Go to the matter’s Communications subtab and click Go to client portal.
  2. Select the Messages subtab.
  3. Click Attach a document to add a resource, type a message, and click Send. If you need to share multiple documents at once, you can also share a whole document folder.
  4. Click the Shares resources subtab to view shared documents.

Note: The maximum file size upload in the client portal is 100MB. Additionally, you can only add one attachment per message.

 

Client invitation email

After sending your first message or sharing an initial document resource, your client will receive an email invitation to join Clio for Clients. This email will contain your firm’s logo and name. The invitation will expire after one hour. If your client does not accept the invitation within the hour, you can send a new invitation by sending another message or sharing another resource.

Your firm controls the email address that the invitation email is sent to. Your client can only access the client portal using this email address. By default, the contact’s primary email address is selected. If there is no designated primary email address, the email will be sent to the client’s first listed email address. You can change this email address by editing the contact card.

 

Show all client portal events

When viewing the Messages subtab of a client portal, you can choose to show or hide client portal events including when participants read messages and documents, when participants were added or removed, and when participants changed the email address used to sign in to the client portal. These client portal events will appear in the message feed with a timestamp indicating when the participant completed the action.

  1. Go to the matter’s Communications subtab and click Go to client portal.
  2. Select the Messages subtab.
  3. Toggle on or off Show all client portal events

 

Stop sharing documents

You can stop document share in either the client portal or the matter’s Documents subtab.

Client portalDocuments subtab
  1. Go to the matter’s Communications subtab and click Go to client portal.
  2. Select the Shared resources subtab.
  3. Click the down arrow next to View and click Stop sharing.

 

Send bills and matter funds requests

When sending bills to clients, you can send bills and matter funds requests by email, through Clio for Clients if your clients have active client portals, or both. Your client will receive an email notification informing them of the bill. Once a bill is shared, both you and your client can view the bill in the client portal at any time. Changes made to the bill will immediately reflect in the client portal, which means that you will not need to re-share the bill by email

You can send bills and matter funds requests either individually or in bulk through the client portal. If you share a bill via Clio for Clients, your client can access the bill from an email notification or from within the client portal. If your firm has Clio Payments enabled, your client can also pay their bill by clicking the payment link in the email or by accessing the client portal. 

Note: The option to send a bill through the client portal will only appear if a client portal is set up prior to sending the bill. If your client does not have an active client portal, see this article to learn more about getting started.

Important: You cannot share multi-matter bills (bills containing activities from multiple matters for a single contact) and contact-level client funds requests through Clio for Clients. If these bills are included when sending bills in bulk, they will be sent by email only. Supported bills and matter-level funds requests will be sent via the client portal. 

Share one billShare multiple bills
  1. Go to Billing or go to the Bills subtab within the matter.
  2. Find the bill you want to send and click Send.
  3. In the send bill modal, toggle on Send to client portal.
  4. Optional: Add a message to your client. Your client will see this message in the email notification.
  5. Optional: Toggle on Send via email to also send the bill by email.
  6. Click Send bill.

 

Share calendar events

When you create a calendar event in Clio Manage and add a client with an active client portal as an event attendee, you can share the event via Clio for Clients, allowing your client to access all collaboration between them and your firm in one place. This option is selected by default if your client has a client portal. Once the event is shared, your client will receive a notification in Clio for Clients and an email notification of the event.

  1. Go to the main Calendar tab or the matter’s Calendar subtab and click New event.
  2. Under Invite attendees, add your contact attendee.
  3. Click Save event.

 

Share client portal login link

You can embed a public link on your website that your clients can click to access the client portal. You can also share this link directly with your clients.

Note: Your clients can only log in to their client portals using this link if they have already created Clio for Clients accounts.

  1. Copy this link: https://eu.clients.clio.com/login
  2. Send this link in a message, email, or embed it on your website.

 

Revoke access to client portals

Once opened, a client portal cannot be deleted or closed, but you can revoke access to individual items or the entire portal. You can delete a message in the portal, stop sharing resources (see above section), or remove a participant.

Delete messageRemove participant
  1. Go to the matter’s Communications subtab and click Go to client portal.
  2. Find the message under the Messages subtab and click the trash can icon when hovering over the message.
  3. When prompted to confirm, click Delete message.

 

Need more help?

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful