Firm administrators can invite, deactivate, and manage every user from the Admin Console. This article covers how to manage Clio licences, invite, deactivate, and reactivate users, and allocate or deallocate licences to users.
Note: Only firm administrators with the relevant permissions (manage users, manage roles, and manage firm settings) can access the Admin Console. Refer to firm settings in custom roles and permissions for more information.
Access the Admin Console
- In Clio Manage, click Settings > Admin Console.
Purchase licences and allocate or deallocate licences
To allocate or deallocate licences to users, you first have to purchase licences in each product's settings. You can access each product's licence settings via the Admin Console, where you can purchase more licences or reduce the number of licences if you do not use them all.
Manage licences
- In the Admin Console, click Users.
- For the relevant product tile, click Administer licences.
- Add or remove licences as needed.
- Learn how to manage Clio Manage licences
- Learn how to add Clio Grow licences and how to remove Clio Grow licences
- Learn how to manage Clio Draft licences
- Learn how to manage Clio Accounting licences
- To manage Personal Injury licences, contact Clio Support
Important: You are billed for the number of product licences you have, regardless of whether a licence is assigned to a user or not.
Note: You can view how many licences your firm has available for each product, out of your total purchased, from the licence tiles at the top of the Users page. During a trial of a product, the tile will show trial seats.
Allocate or deallocate a licence for a single user
- In the Admin Console, click Users.
- Find the user, then click Edit.
- Under licences, turn on the toggle on for a product to allocate a licence, or turn it off to deallocate the licence.
- Click Save.
Note: You can also find instructions for allocating or deallocating licences from within Clio Manage, Clio Grow, Clio Accounting, Clio Work, and Clio Draft. Regardless of where you start from, the end result is the same.
Allocate or deallocate licences in bulk
- In the Admin Console, click Users.
- Select the checkbox for each user you want to update.
- Click Bulk Actions, then select Allocate [Product] or Remove [Product] for the licence you want to change.
- Click Save.
Invite users
You can invite one or more new users to your firm at once, assigning their roles, groups, and product licences as part of the invitation.
- In the Admin Console, click Users, then click Invite Users.
- Add email address(es).
- Enter one or more email addresses. Separate multiple addresses with a comma to invite several users with the same roles, groups, and licences at the same time.
- Click Add.
- Select one or more Roles to assign.
- Optional: Select one or more Groups. Learn more about user groups.
- Using the toggles, select the licences to assign to the user(s).
- Click Send Invites.
- Review the summary of the permissions, then click Send Invitations or Send and Invite More Users instead.
Note: You can also find instructions for inviting users from within Clio Manage (one user at a time or in bulk), Clio Grow, Clio Accounting, Clio Work, and Clio Draft. Regardless of where you start from, the end result is the same.
Revoke an invitation
- In the Admin Console, click Users.
- For the relevant user, in the Actions column, click the more icon (vertical ellipses).
- Select Cancel invitation.
Note: You can also find instructions for revoking invitations from within Clio Manage, Clio Grow, Clio Draft, and Clio Accounting. Regardless of where you start from, the end result is the same.
Import users in bulk
You can also learn how to import users into Cio Manage in bulk.
- Open this template and populate it with your users' information. Once finished, save it to your computer.
- email: Enter the user's email address. Required.
- first_name: Enter the user's first name. Required.
- last_name: Enter the user's last name. Required.
- initials: Enter the user's initials without any periods or spaces between letters.
- time_zone: Enter the user's timezone.
- address: Enter the user's street address.
- city: Enter the user's city.
- state/province: Enter the user's state or province.
- zip/post code: Enter the user's zip code or post code.
- country: Enter the user's country.
- phone: Enter the user's phone number.
- subscription_type: Enter either "Attorney" or "Non-attorney." Required.
- In Clio Admin, click Users, then click Invite Users.
- Click Import.
- Upload the CSV.
Deactivate and reactivate users
You can deactivate firm users who no longer need access to Clio. Deactivating a user hides their calendar entries, but their previous activities and tasks remain. There is no option to permanently remove a user.
Deactivate a user
- In the Admin Console, click Users.
- For the relevant user, in the Actions column, click the more icon (vertical ellipses).
- Select Deactivate user.
- When the confirmation prompt appears, confirm by selecting Deactivate Users.
Reactivate a user
- In the Admin Console, click Users, then click the Inactive filter.
- Find the user, click the down arrow next to Edit, then select Reactivate Member.
Tip: Deactivating and reactivating users can also be done in bulk. Select the checkbox for each user, then click Bulk Actions and select Deactivate Member or Reactivate Member.
Note: You can also find instructions for deactivating and reactivating users from within Clio Manage, Clio Grow, and Clio Accounting. Regardless of where you start from, the end result is the same.
Expire passwords and sign out users
Administrators can force a user to sign out of all active sessions, or require them to set a new password the next time they sign in.
Expire a user's password
- In the Admin Console, click Users.
- For the relevant user, in the Actions column, click the more icon (vertical ellipses).
- Select Expire Password.
- Confirm by selecting Expire User Password.
Note: This signs the user out of all active sessions and sends them an email to create a new password.
Sign a user out
- In the Admin Console, click Users.
- For the relevant user, in the Actions column, click the more icon (vertical ellipses).
- Select Sign Out.
- Confirm by selecting Sign Out All Users.
Note: You can also find instructions for expiring passwords or signing users out of their account from within Clio Manage, Clio Grow, and Clio Accounting. Regardless of where you start from, the end result is the same.
Reassign a user's work
In Clio Admin, click Users.
- For the relevant user, in the Actions column, click the more icon (vertical ellipses).
- Select the firm user(s) to reassign the work to for Matters, Tasks, and Calendar Events.
- Click Reassign work.
Up next
- Assign and Unassign Roles: Learn how to assign and unassign roles for firm users.