In Clio Manage you can delete and recover matters. However, best practice guidelines suggest that you only delete matters in specific scenarios like a duplicate record or when no work or substantial details were recorded in Clio. Instead of deleting a matter, you can close it which allows you to retain your matter information while keeping your Clio workspace organized.
Important: When you delete and then recover a matter, you risk losing some information that was associated with the record prior to deletion.
Delete individual matters in Clio Manage
When you delete a matter in Clio Manage, the matter’s documents can still be found in the main Documents tab. Similarly, the activities will remain in the main Activities tab but without any associated matters. Tasks, notes, Clio for Co-Counsel access, and Clio for Clients access will be deleted along with the matter. Any associations related to the matter's contacts, calendar events, activities, bills, documents, communications, and grants will no longer exist.
- Go to Matters and click Edit. You can also search for the matter in the search bar and click Edit matter.
- Click Delete matter.
- When the warning prompt appears, check the box confirming the action, and then click Delete matter.
Delete matters in bulk in Clio Manage
Note: Only users with administrator permissions can delete matters in bulk.
- Go to Matters.
- Check the box next to each matter you want to delete.
- Click Delete matters.
- When the warning prompt appears, check the box confirming the action, and then click Delete matter.
Recover deleted matters in Clio Manage
The Recovery Bin in Clio Manage contains deleted items for up to six months. If you delete a matter in error in Clio Manage, you may be able to recover it using the Recovery Bin. This process may only be partially successful.
- Go to Settings > Recovery Bin.
- Click Filter.
- Under Type, select Matter, and then click Search.
- Click Recover.
- Select Ok.