If you use Clio Grow and Clio Manage, you can convert matters and their data from Clio Grow to Clio Manage when prospective clients become clients.
Convert matters from Clio Grow to Clio Manage
You can convert a matter from Clio Grow to Clio Manage one matter at a time.
- In Clio Grow, go to the matter.
- Click Convert to Clio Manage.
- Add any necessary information.
- Click Convert matter.
- View the matter in Clio Manage by clicking Open matter in Clio Manage. You can also select View in Clio Manage on the matter’s page.
Converted fields and information
When you convert a matter from Clio Grow to Clio Manage for the first time, the following information is converted.
Important: Make sure to enable syncing between Clio Manage and Clio Grow for the best experience.
Converted fields and information
- Custom fields
-
Contacts(s)
Note: If you did not previously allow Clio Grow and Clio Manage to sync, only the contact set as the default client in Clio Grow will converted to Clio Manage. Learn how to sync Clio Grow and Clio Manage. With Clio Grow and Clio Managed Synced, contacts marked as clients during conversion are added as clients to the matter in Clio Manage, while contacts not marked as clients during conversion are added as related contacts to the matter.
- Tags
- All employees of a company contact
-
Description
Note: If you did not previously allow Clio Grow and Clio Manage to sync, related contacts will not be converted to Clio Manage. Learn how to sync Clio Grow and Clio Manage.
- Location
- Notes
- Submitted documents and forms
- Attached files
- Payments recorded in Clio Grow
Fields and information not converted
- Matter type
- Matter status
- Assigned to
- Created on
- Estimated case value
- Emails
- Tasks
Linked fields and information
If you sync Clio Grow and Clio Manage, once a matter is converted, the following fields and information remain linked between Clio Grow and Clio Manage so that editing or making changes in either Clio Grow or Manage update fields or information in the other.
- Description
- Contacts
- Contact and matter notes
Setting permissions in Clio Manage and deleting a matter in either Clio Manage or Clio Grow also result in the following behaviour:
- Permissions in Clio Manage: If a matter is restricted to specific users or groups in Clio Manage, it becomes locked for editing and view-only in Clio Grow until the restriction is changed. While in this state, any changes made in Clio Manage to the synced fields will not sync to Clio Grow. However, if the permissions in Clio Manage are changed again to allow everyone access, any previous changes made will then sync to Clio Grow. Learn more about matter permissions in Clio Manage.
- Deleting a matter: If a matter is deleted in Clio Grow, the matter will also be deleted in Clio Manage and vice versa. Deleted matters can be recovered from Clio Manage.