Contact Clients and Share Resources in Clio for Clients

Have more questions? Submit a request

Send a message or document

With Clio for Clients, you can send your clients messages and shared documents or document folders via the Clio Manage web or mobile app. When your client responds or uploads a document, you and other firm member participants will receive an email notification. You will receive one notification for all items sent within a 5 minute time frame. You can also see when your client opens an unread message or document.

Note: Email notifications cannot be disabled.

Send message and document Send existing document

Follow the directions below to send a document when composing a message.

  1. Go to the matter’s Communications subtab and click Go to client portal.
  2. Select the Messages subtab.
  3. Click Attach a document to add a resource, type a message, and click Send. If you need to share multiple documents at once, you can also share a whole document folder.
  4. Click the Shares resources subtab to view shared documents.

Note: The maximum file size upload in the client portal is 100MB. Additionally, you can only add one attachment per message.

 

Client invitation email

After sending your first message or sharing an initial document resource, your client will receive an email invitation to join Clio for Clients. This email will contain your firm’s logo and name. The invitation will expire after one hour. If your client does not accept the invitation within the hour, you can send a new invitation by sending another message or sharing another resource.

Your firm controls the email address that the invitation email is sent to. Your client can only access the client portal using this email address. By default, the contact’s primary email address is selected. If there is no designated primary email address, the email will be sent to the client’s first listed email address. You can change this email address by editing the contact card.

 

Show all client portal events

When viewing the Messages subtab of a client portal, you can choose to show or hide client portal events including when participants read messages and documents, when participants were added or removed, and when participants changed the email address used to sign in to the client portal. These client portal events will appear in the message feed with a timestamp indicating when the participant completed the action.

  1. Go to the matter’s Communications subtab and click Go to client portal.
  2. Select the Messages subtab.
  3. Toggle on or off Show all client portal events

 

Stop sharing documents

You can stop document share in either the client portal or the matter’s Documents subtab.

Client portal Documents subtab
  1. Go to the matter’s Communications subtab and click Go to client portal.
  2. Select the Shared resources subtab.
  3. Click the down arrow next to View and click Stop sharing.

 

Send bills and matter trust requests

When sending bills to clients, you can send bills and matter trust requests by email, through Clio for Clients if your clients have active client portals, or both. You can send bills and matter trust requests either individually or in bulk through the client portal. If you share a bill via Clio for Clients, your client can access the bill from an email notification or from within the client portal. If your firm has Clio Payments enabled, your client can also pay their bill by clicking the payment link in the email or by accessing the client portal.

Once a bill is shared, both you and your client can view the bill in the client portal at any time. Changes made to the bill will immediately reflect in the client portal, which means that you will not need to re-share the bill by email. 

Note: The option to send a bill through the client portal will only appear if a client portal is set up prior to sending the bill. If your client does not have an active client portal, see this article to learn more about getting started.

Important: You cannot share multi-matter bills (bills containing activities from multiple matters for a single contact) and contact-level trust requests through Clio for Clients. If these bills are included when sending bills in bulk, they will be sent by email only. Supported bills and matter-level trust requests will be sent via the client portal. 

Share one bill Share multiple bills
  1. Go to Billing or go to the Bills subtab within the matter.
  2. Find the bill you want to send and click Send.
  3. In the send bill modal, toggle on Send to client portal.
  4. Optional: Add a message to your client. Your client will see this message in the email notification.
  5. Optional: Toggle on Send via email to also send the bill by email.
  6. Click Send bill.

 

Revoke access to a client portal

Once opened, a client portal cannot be deleted or closed, but you can revoke access to individual items or the entire portal. You can delete a message in the portal, stop sharing resources (see above section), or remove a participant.

Delete message Remove participant
  1. Go to the matter’s Communications subtab and click Go to client portal.
  2. Find the message under the Messages subtab and click the trash can icon when hovering over the message.
  3. When prompted to confirm, click Delete message.

 

Need more help?

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful