Client Actions in Clio for Clients

Have more questions? Submit a request

Client access

Clients can access Clio for Clients using either their web browser or the mobile app. Logging into Clio for Clients does not require a password. Instead, clients log in using their email address and an authentication link sent to their email.

When your firm sends an initial invitation to the client portal, your client will be prompted to log in using a one-time password that is valid for only one hour. When the link expires, your client will be prompted to request a new link.

Each time your firm shares a new document or sends a new message, your clients will be able to access the client portal using just their email address and a one-time password authentication link.

Tip: Clients can learn more about Clio for Clients and resources for getting started here.

Trouble logging in? Clients must log in to the client portal using the same email address that your firm sent the original invitation email to. When using the web app, US and Canadian customers should log in to clients.clio.com.

Mobile app:
The Clio for Clients mobile app is available for both iOS and Android. The benefit of using the mobile app is that clients can connect the app to their phone’s biometric authentication system and log in using FaceID or a fingerprint for extra security. Additionally, the mobile app offers push notifications.
Web app:
Your clients will receive email notifications when something in the client portal requires their attention. Clients can log in to the web portal using their email address and a new access link that gets sent to their email address.

 

Share documents

Clients can share up to 20 document files at once in the client portal while using either the web app or the mobile app. The directions for sharing documents vary depending on which platform they are using.

Mobile app (Documents) Mobile app (Messages) Web app
  1. Click Send document.
  2. Choose the method to upload the file. You can scan the document, take a photo, browser photos in your phone, or browser files in your phone.
  3. Optional: add a message, update the file name, or choose a folder to upload the file into.
  4. Click Send.

 

Log out

To keep data secure, clients are automatically logged out of the client portal after 15 minutes of inactivity. Clients can also manually log out.

  1. Click Menu.
  2. Select Sign out.

Note: Clients can access the portal again to review the case or communicate with the firm at any time.

 

View and pay bills

Note: Paying bills is only available if the firm account is using Clio Payments.

If a firm user shares a bill through the client portal, a client can view and pay the bill through the client portal. Once the bill is shared, the client will receive an email notification. To view and pay the bill in the client portal:

  1. Go to the bill email and click View all bills in secure portal.
  2. Once in the client portal, click Messages to view the firm’s message and the bill. You can also click Bills to view the bill.
  3. Click the bill to view a downloaded copy.
  4. Click Pay bill to pay the bill.

 

Need more help?

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful