Deactivate Users and Account Cancellation

Have more questions? Submit a request

In Clio, only the Primary Subscriber and users with administrator permissions can change account settings. This includes deactivating and reactivating users, removing unused licenses, and cancelling the account.

Tip: Learn more about setting up your account and adding users in this article.

Deactivate a user

When a user account is deactivated, accounts on a monthly subscription will no longer be charged for a deactivated account. Accounts on an annual subscription can use the available license for another user. Deactivating a user’s account will hide their calendar entries, but their activity will not be removed. There is no option to permanently remove a user.

Note: Administrators cannot deactivate the Primary Subscriber’s account.

Clio Manage Clio Grow

Follow these steps to deactivate a user in Clio Manage:

  1. Go to Settings > Manage Users.
  2. Click Deactivate under the user’s name.
  3. When the warning prompt appears, select Deactivate.

 

Reassign work from deactivated user

In Clio Manage, you can reassign work from a deactivated user to an active user. 

  1. Go to Settings > Manage Users.
  2. Click Filter and select Show All Users.
  3. Find the user and click Reassign Work.
  4. After reassigning work to another user, click Reassign work.

Reactivate user

Important: If the reactivated user is signing in with the same email address as their deactivated account, you may need to contact Clio Support to have their email released before they can access their account.

Clio Manage Clio Grow

Follow these steps to reactivate a user in Clio Manage:

  1. Go to Settings > Manage Users.
  2. Click Filter and select Show All Users.
  3. Find the deactivated user and click Activate under their name.

 

Remove unused licenses (annual subscriptions)

Clio Manage accounts on an annual subscription can remove an unused license if they know they do not need it.

Note: This action will affect the annual rate at renewal.

Clio Manage Clio Grow

Follow these steps to remove an unused license in Clio Manage:

  1. Go to Settings > Account and Payment Info > Payment Info.
  2. Under Renewal Options click Change Renewal Options.
  3. Check the box for Remove unused licenses at renewal.
  4. Click Update Renewal Options.

 

Cancel account

There are no additional or hidden costs to canceling your Clio account. Just remember to cancel before your renewal date to avoid annual charges. You can cancel your Clio Manage account in settings. You can cancel your Clio Grow account by calling Clio Support.

Note: Only a user with administrator permissions can cancel the account.

  1. In Clio Manage, go to Settings > Account and Payment Info.
  2. Click Close Account.
  3. Select the reason for closing your account.
  4. Phone Clio Support for verification.
  5. Click I Want To Permanently Close My Account.

Tip: See Clio’s Terms of Service to learn more about account cancellation policies.

 

Need more help?

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful