Manage Tasks

Tasks are an essential part of tracking matter-related activities and events in Clio Manage. You can create and edit tasks, track time against them, mark them as complete, and get an overview of upcoming deadlines.

Tip: You can use task types and task lists to efficiently manage similar tasks across multiple matters.

Task access and permissions

Tasks created in Clio are visible to all users at the firm unless the task was set as private when it was created or edited. Private tasks are visible to the user who created the task, the the task assignee, and users with administrator permissions.

 

Create new tasks

In Clio, there are several locations where tasks appear to help you keep on track with everything you need to do. Tasks are viewable in the Calendar page on their due date, in the Manage > All task page, and tasks associated with a matter appear in the matter's Tasks widget. If you are the assignee on a task, the task will also appear in your Today page.

You can create a task from the main All task tab, from the Tasks subtab within a matter, or from the global create + icon in the header (top right).

  1. Go to the main Tasks tab, the Tasks subtab within a matter, or click the create + icon (top right).
  2. Click New task.
  3. Complete the task details.

    Tip: Use text formatting (like bold or italics) to emphasize critical details, lists to keep things organized, and/or add links to reference other information.
  4. Click Save task to save this task and close the modal. Click Save and create another to save the task and open a new blank modal to create a new task. Click Save and duplicate to save the task and keep the details you filled. This last option is useful if you are creating a task that has similar to the one you just created.

 

Duplicate tasks

All firm users can duplicate tasks from the main All tasks page or the Tasks subtab within a matter, or while editing a task. Duplicating tasks allows you to quickly create new tasks with the same details, reminders, and assignments. This helps maintain consistency and focus on the work itself.

Note: You can set tasks to repeat in Clio Manage by duplicating them to maintain consistency and efficiency across your matters.
All tasks page Matter's task subtab
  1. Go to Manage > All tasks.
  2. For the task you want to duplicate, click the more icon (vertical ellipses) in the Actions column, then select Duplicate.
  3. Make any necessary changes to the task details.
  4. Click Save task.

 

Edit tasks

You can edit an existing task from the main All tasks page, from the Tasks subtab within a matter, or from the Calendar page. When you edit a task, the original details are not preserved with the task itself, but Administrators can view changes via the firm's Audit log.

All tasks page Matter's task subtab Calendar
  1. Go to the main All tasks tab.
  2. For the relevant task, click the more icon (vertical ellipses) in the Actions column and select Edit task.
  3. Make any necessary changes to the task details.
  4. Click Save task.

 

Reassign tasks

There are several ways that you can reassign tasks.

  • You can reassign a single task when you edit the task by choosing a different individual or individuals in the Assign to field.
  • You can also reassign all tasks from a specific user to another. One scenario where this option may be useful is if you deactivate a user or if a user's work responsibilities change.
  • Finally, you can reassign a tasks or tasks from the All tasks page or from a matter's Tasks subtab to another party. Follow the instructions below for this option.

Note: You can only bulk reassign tasks associated with open or pending matters.

  1. Go to Manage > All tasks, or open a matter and go to the Tasks subtab.
  2. Use the checkbox(es) to select the task(s) you want to reassign.

    Tip: To select all tasks visible on the page, select the checkbox in the table header. You can also apply filters to narrow your list of tasks.
  3. Click Reassign.
  4. Under Assign to, select the firm member you want to reassign the tasks to.
  5. Click Save.

 

Select task relative due date

When editing a task’s due date, you can select a specific date or select a relative due date that is based on an existing task for a matter. This means that the task will be due a specific amount of time before or after an existing task that is linked to the matter. When you update the due date for the first task, the task with the relative due date will automatically update to the same amount of time before or after the first task is due.

  1. Create a new task or open a task for editing.
  2. Under Due date select Relative due date. Specify how long before or after another task this task should be due.
  3. Click Save task.

 

Update task due dates in bulk

Task due dates can be updated for individual tasks and for multiple tasks in bulk. When you bulk update task due dates for outstanding tasks, you can select an unlimited number of tasks. The tasks will all update to the same new due date.

Important: Tasks with relevant due dates will adjust according to the parameters specified in the relevant due date only if one of the tasks in the relevant connection is updated. If you bulk update two or more tasks that are connected via relevant due dates, they will have the same new due date, which means that the relevant due date connection will be broken.

  1. Go to Manage > All tasks or open a matter and go to the Tasks subtab.
  2. Use the checkboxes to select multiple tasks.
  3. Click Edit date.
  4. Select a new due date.
  5. Click Save.

 

Add time to tasks

When tracking tasks for a matter, you can also add billable or non-billable time to the task. This ensures that your time is captured for any work in progress that may appear on a generated invoice.

  1. Go to Manage > All tasks or open a matter and go to the Tasks subtab.
  2. For the relevant task, in the Recorded time column, click Add time.
  3. Complete the time entry details and click Save entry.

 

Mark tasks complete or incomplete

When you mark a task as complete, they no longer appear in your default views as "reminders". You can still find a list of all complete tasks in the Completed subtab of the All tasks page and in a matter's Tasks subtab. Similarly, when you mark a completed task as incomplete, it moves back to the Outstanding view of the task list. You can mark tasks as complete or incomplete for individual tasks or in bulk.

Note: You will not receive a notification if you complete one of your own tasks.

Mark complete or incomplete

You can mark tasks complete or incomplete, either individually or in bulk. 

Complete/incomplete single task Complete/incomplete multiple tasks
  1. Go to Manage > All tasks or open a matter and go to the Tasks subtab.
  2. Click Mark complete. You can move the task back to incomplete by selecting the Completed tab and then clicking Mark incomplete.

Note: You can also mark a single task as complete in the Calendar or from your Today page.

 

Delete tasks

Important: Deleting tasks is a permanent action.

Any user can delete individual tasks that they have visibility on. Users with Administrator permnissions can delete tasks in bulk.

Delete single task Delete tasks in bulk
  1. Go to Manage > All tasks or open a matter and go to the Tasks subtab.
  2. For the relevant task, in the Actions column, click the more icon (vertical ellipses) or the dropwdown arrow and select Delete task.
  3. When the warning prompt appears, select Delete.

Note: You can also delete a task from your Calendar. Select the task in your calendar to open its details, then click Delete. 

 

Up next