User Security

Have more questions? Submit a request

In Clio Manage, firm administrators can view all users’ login and activity history, end sessions for all users in case of a suspected compromised account, and deactivate users.

Important: Only users with administrator permissions have access to the settings listed below.

User login history

As a firm administrator, you can view the login history of all users on the firm account. You can view the IP address that accessed the Clio account, the date the account was last accessed, when the user was last active, and how long the user was last active for. 

  1. Go to Settings > Security > Sessions.
  2. Optional: Click Filter to narrow the list by particular user or the date after which a user may have last logged into the account.
Note: The Sessions history shows user history for all Clio and Clio for Co-Counsel users.

 

Force log out all users

If you are a firm administrator and suspect that an external, unauthorized party has gained access to the account, you can force log out all users.

Important: This action will sign out ALL users, including the user performing the action.

  1. Go to Settings > Manage Users.
  2. Click Actions and select Sign out all users.
  3. When the warning prompt appears, select Ok.
Tip: Contact Clio Support if you need to freeze your account for security reasons.

 

Deactivate users

As an administrator at the firm, you can deactivate specific user accounts.

Important: A deactivated user will not have access to data on their deactivated account, even if the user creates a new user account. Data exports should be done before disabling any user account.
  1. Go to Settings > Manage Users.
  2. Click Deactivate below the user whose account you want to disable.
  3. When the warning prompt appears, select Deactivate.

 

Need more help?

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful