Delete and Void Bills

Have more questions? Submit a request

Bills in draft or pending approval can be deleted. Bills that have been approved and bills that have full or partial payments applied can only be voided. If you need to edit a paid bill, you will need to delete the payment first.

Note: When bills are deleted or voided, activities will go back to an unbilled state and can be billed again.

Delete bills

Bills can be deleted one at a time or in bulk and can only be deleted if they are in draft or pending approval. When you delete a bill, the deleted bill can be found in the Archive section of the main Billing tab.

Delete individual bill Delete bills in bulk
  1. Go to Billing or go to the Bills subtab in a contact or matter
  2. Select either Draft or Pending approval.
  3. Click the down arrow next to Edit and select Delete bill.
  4. When the warning prompt appears, select Delete invoice.

 

Void bills

Unpaid bills and paid bills with full or partial payments can only be voided. Once voided, the bill cannot be unvoided. When you void a bill, the voided bill can be found in the Archive section of the main Billing tab. Activities on the voided bill will return to an unbilled state and can be billed again. 

Important: You cannot delete a payment for a trust request. Learn more about trust requests in this article.

Remove payment before voiding bill:

  1. Go to Billing or go to the Bills subtab in a contact or matter.
  2. Click the Bill ID or click the down arrow next to Send and select View bill.
  3. Find the payment in the Payments subtab.
  4. Click the down arrow next to Edit and select Delete.
  5. When the warning prompt appears, select Delete.

 

Void unpaid bill:

  1. Go to Billing or go to the Bills subtab in a contact or matter.
  2. Select Unpaid.
  3. Click the down arrow next to Send and select Void bill.
  4. When the warning prompt appears, select Void invoice.

 

Delete or void bills for deleted contacts

If you deleted a contact and still have generated bills for the contact’s matter(s), you can only delete or void the bills by recovering the contact from the Recovery Bin.

  1. Go to Settings > Recovery Bin
  2. Click Filter.
  3. Under Type select Contact.
  4. Find the contact and click Recover.
  5. Follow the directions above to delete or void the bill and then re-delete the contact.

 

Need more help?

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful