Permissions and Billing Rates

Have more questions? Submit a request

Accessing bills in Clio requires that a user have billing permissions. Access to bills in Clio includes the ability to view, approve, edit, send, void, and delete bills, and accept payment for bills.

Firm users with administrator permissions can also change each firm user’s billing rate and billing rate visibility. A user’s billing rate is the standard user rate for activities. Billing rate visibility is a setting that restricts access to billing rates when creating time entries.

Tip: Learn more about rate hierarchy when creating time and expense activities here.

Manage billing permissions

You can only access bills in Clio if you have the billing permission enabled on your user account. Without this permission, you cannot create, view, or manage bills. Follow the steps below to add or remove a user's billing permissions.

Note: Only administrators can change other firm users’ permissions.
  1. Go to Settings > Manage Users.
  2. Click Edit below a user’s name.
  3. Scroll down to Permissions and then check or uncheck Billing.
  4. Click Save New Information.

 

Change billing rate

Any user can change their own billing rate. Additionally, administrators can change billing rates for any firm user.

Change your own billing rate Change another user's billing rate
  1. Go to Settings > Profile.
  2. Scroll down to Billing Rate and enter your billing rate.
  3. At the bottom of the screen, click Save New Information.

 

Change billing rate visibility

Billing rate visibility is a setting that can restrict whether a user can view their own or even other users’ billing rates when creating time entries. Each user can view all billing rates for all users, only their own billing rate, or no billing rate including their own.

Note: Only administrators can change other firm users’ billing rate visibility.
  1. Go to Settings > Manage Users.
  2. Click Edit below a user’s name.
  3. Scroll down to Billing Rate Visibility and select the access level.
  4. At the bottom of the screen, click Save New Information.

 

Need more help?

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful