Payment Profiles

Have more questions? Submit a request

Payment profiles are customized payment terms that you can specify for individual clients. You can use this feature to create payment profiles for charging interest after a specified time period, for early payment discount, for bill payment due dates, and more.

Note: By default, all new and existing contacts use Clio’s Default payment profile. You can edit the terms of this profile.

Create new payment profile

When you create a new payment profile, you can specify whether bill payment is due immediately upon receipt or create custom payment terms. The grace period is the amount of time that the client is provided to pay the bill before the bill is overdue and/or interest begins to accumulate.

  1. Go to Settings > Billing > Payment Profiles.
  2. Click Create a payment profile.
  3. Name the profile.
  4. Select Custom Payment Terms to set a custom grace period, discount, and/or interest.
  5. Click Create Profile.
Tip: For pro-bono cases, set a one-day grace period with 100% discount after one day.

 

Apply payment profile to contact

You can only apply one payment profile for each contact. To apply a payment profile to a contact:

  1. Go to the contact.
  2. Click Edit contact.
  3. Scroll down to Billing preferences.
  4. Click the field below Payment profile and select the appropriate payment profile.
  5. Click Save contact.

 

Edit payment profile

You can edit any payment profile you create, and you can also edit Clio’s Default payment profile.

Note: If a client already has a generated bill and you want to apply a different payment profile, you will need to change the profile in the contact card, void the bill, and regenerate the bill.
  1. Go to Settings > Billing > Payment Profiles.
  2. Click Edit.
  3. Make your changes.
  4. Click Update Profile.

 

Delete payment profile

When you delete a payment profile, all contacts who have that payment profile applied will switch to Clio’s Default payment profile. Existing bills will retain the deleted payment profile, but new bills will use the new payment profile. 

  1. Go to Settings > Billing > Payment Profiles.
  2. Click Delete.
  3. When the warning prompt appears, click Delete.

 

Need more help?

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful