Delete Matters

Have more questions? Submit a request

Once a matter is deleted, it can only be recovered in Clio Manage, not Clio Grow. If the matter is recovered, it may not necessarily contain all the information it had prior to deletion.

Important: The recommended action is to close a matter rather than delete it if you are no longer working on it. When you close a matter, it is moved from the list of open matters, but you can still access matter information. Learn more here.

Delete matter in Clio Manage 

When you delete a matter in Clio Manage, the matter’s documents can still be found in the main Documents tab. Similarly, the activities will remain in the main Activities tab but without any associated matters. Additionally, matter numbers will not automatically be updated. You can update matter numbers in your settings.

Tip: You can view which firm member deleted a matter in the Firm Feed.
  1. Go to Matters and click Edit. You can also search for the matter in the search bar and click Edit matter.
  2. Click Delete matter.
  3. When the warning prompt appears, check the box confirming the action, and then click Delete matter.

 

Delete Clio Manage matters in bulk

Note: Only users with administrator permissions can delete matters in bulk.

  1. Go to Matters.
  2. Check the box next to each matter you want to delete.
  3. Click Delete matters.
  4. When the warning prompt appears, check the box confirming the action, and then click Delete matter.

 

Delete matter in Clio Grow

When you delete a matter in Clio Grow, workflow, forms, documents, tasks, notes, and appointments will all be deleted. Deleting a matter in Clio Grow does not delete the same matter in Clio Manage. Additionally, you cannot delete matters in bulk in Clio Grow.

Important: Clio Grow matters cannot be recovered once deleted, this includes any work done on the matter.
  1. Go to the matter.
  2. Click the Matter options dropdown and select Delete Matter.
  3. When the warning prompt appears, check the box confirming the action, and then click Delete.

 

Recover deleted matter in Clio Manage

The Recovery Bin in Clio manage contains deleted items for up to six months. If you delete a matter in error in Clio Manage, you may be able to recover it using the Recovery Bin. This process may only be partially successful.

  1. Go to Settings > Recovery Bin.
  2. Click Filter.
  3. Under Type, select Matter, and then click Search.
  4. Click Recover.
  5. Select Ok.

 

Need more help?

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful