Convert Matters

If you use Clio Grow and Clio Manage, you can convert matters and their data from Clio Grow to Clio Manage when prospective clients become clients.

 

Convert matters from Clio Grow to Clio Manage

You can convert a matter from Clio Grow to Clio Manage one matter at a time

  1. In Clio Grow, go to the matter.
  2. Click Convert to Clio Manage.
  3. Add any necessary information.
  4. Click Convert matter.
  5. View the matter in Clio Manage by clicking Open matter in Clio Manage. You can also select View in Clio Manage on the matter’s page.

 

Prepare and convert multi-contact matters from Clio Grow to Clio Manage

When converting matters in Clio Grow to Clio Manage, you can control which contacts to should be added as clients vs related contacts.

  1. Open a matter in Clio Grow and click Edit Matter.
  2. In the Contacts section, use the Set as default client radio button to select the default client.
  3. For each contact you want to add as a client to the matter, check the checkbox for This contact is a client below the contact’s name.
  4. Click Save.

When viewing the matter page, contacts marked as clients will have display a Client label.

When converting a matter from Clio Grow to Clio Manage, in the Related Contacts section of the conversion modal, contacts you previously selected as clients will have the checkbox for This contact is a client preselected. You can make adjustments before converting the matter.

 

Converted fields and information

When you convert a matter from Clio Grow to Clio Manage for the first time, the following information is converted.

Important: Make sure to enable syncing between Clio Manage and Clio Grow for the best experience.

Converted fields and information

 

Fields and information not converted

  • Matter type
  • Matter status
  • Assigned to
  • Created on
  • Estimated case value
  • Emails
  • Tasks

 

Linked fields and information

If you sync Clio Grow and Clio Manage, once a matter is converted, the following fields and information remain linked between Clio Grow and Clio Manage so that editing or making changes in either Clio Grow or Manage update fields or information in the other.

Setting permissions in Clio Manage and deleting a matter in either Clio Manage or Clio Grow also result in the following behavior:

  • Permissions in Clio Manage: If a matter is restricted to specific users or groups in Clio Manage, it becomes locked for editing and view-only in Clio Grow until the restriction is changed. While in this state, any changes made in Clio Manage to the synced fields will not sync to Clio Grow. However, if the permissions in Clio Manage are changed again to allow everyone access, any previous changes made will then sync to Clio Grow. Learn more about matter permissions in Clio Manage.
  • Deleting a matter: If a matter is deleted in Clio Grow, the matter will also be deleted in Clio Manage and vice versa. Deleted matters can be recovered from Clio Manage.

 

Need more help?

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful