Clio Drive File Management

Have more questions? Submit a request

Bulk file upload

With Clio Drive's bulk file upload feature, you can upload large quantities of documents or large file sizes in the background. When you upload files to Clio Drive, all your files will be available instantly in Clio Drive. Availability in Clio Manage varies depending on broadband speeds and file size.

Note: Both Clio Drive and Clio Manage have an individual file limit of 5GB.

  1. Go to the Clio Drive folder that you want the documents to live.
  2. Copy your files from their current location and paste them into the folder of your choice. You can also drag and drop files.
    Tip: Use keyboard shortcuts to easily move all your files. On a mac, click command + A to select all files, command + c to copy all files, and command + V to paste all files. For Windows, click ctrl + A to copy all files, ctrl + C to copy all files, and ctrl + V to paste all files.
  3. Open the Clio desktop app and select the Drive tab.
  4. Beside Pending Upload Queue, click View queue. You will see the following indicators:
    • Blue upward arrow: The file is in queue and the upload process has not started.
    • Grey hourglass: The upload is in progress. You can still remove or delete the file from the queue.
    • Green checkmark: The upload is complete. You cannot remove the file from the queue. If you need to delete a file, you can delete it from either Clio Manage or Clio Drive.
  5. Access your files in Clio Manage under Documents when all the files in the queue are marked with a green checkmark.
Note: Your document and folder names may be shortened in Clio Drive to the first 8 characters of the name plus a unique number. This happens because of a maximum file name and path limit. The Windows limit is 250 characters, and the mac limit is 1010 characters. The change is only for display purposes and does not affect the actual documents in Clio Manage, unless a user changes the file or folder name.

 

Drag and drop

If you drag and drop files from one folder to another, the files will no longer exist in the original location. If you want the files to exist in more than one location, see the next section on duplicating documents. You can also drag and drop folders.

Note: There is no folder size limit when dragging and dropping folders into Clio Drive if the individual files within those folders are within the 5GB file limit.

  1. Find the document(s) in Clio Drive.
  2. Left-click and drag the document(s).
  3. Hover over the new folder, and then drop or release the document(s) into the new folder.

Tip: You can also open two File Explorer or Finder windows and then drag and drop files from one window to the other.

 

Duplicate files

When you duplicate files in Clio Drive, the files will exist in both the original and new location. The duplicated files will have the same file name with the addition of “copy” at the end of the name. This will happen in both Clio Drive and Clio Manage. 

  1. Find the document(s) in Clio Drive.
  2. Right-click the document(s) and select Copy or use the keyboard shortcut command + C (mac) or ctrl + C (Windows).
  3. Go to the new folder location in Clio Drive and right-click in the space and select Paste Item or use the keyboard shortcut command + V (mac) or ctrl + V (Windows).
  4. Refresh the Documents page in Clio Manage.

 

Create a new document

With Clio Drive you can create a new document directly in Clio Drive, on your desktop using a document creation application, or from a template in Clio Manage.

Create document in Clio Drive:

You can create a new document directly in Clio Drive using Finder or File Explorer. Follow the steps below for each operating platform.

Mac Windows
  1. Go to a Clio Drive folder of your choosing.
  2. In the search bar, use Finder’s Spotlight to search for and open a document creation application. Macs have a built-in application called TextEdit, but you can use any other application, such as Microsoft Word.
  3. Click New document, add content, then click File > Save in your mac’s menu bar. You can change the file save location by clicking the dropdown and searching for a new folder.

 

On desktop using document creation application (mac):

Follow the steps below to create a document on a mac device using a document creation application.

  1. Open your document creation application of choice. Mac’s built-in application is TextEdit, but you can use any other application, including Microsoft Word.
  2. Add content to your document, then click File > Save in your mac’s menu bar.
  3. Find the right Clio Drive folder and click Save.

 

From a template in Clio Manage:

Follow the steps below to create a document directly in Clio Manage on either a Windows or mac.

  1. Go to Documents.
  2. Select New > Create a new document from template.
  3. Choose your Document template, change the File name, select Create a PDF document and/or Create a Word document, and then click Create.

 

View and edit

You can view and edit files in both Clio Drive and Clio Manage. Any changes made to an open document in Clio Drive will be mirrored in Clio Manage when saved.

Note: Changes made to an open document in Clio Drive will show in the matter’s Timeline and the Firm Feed. Changes made to only the file name will not show in either the Timeline or Firm Feed.

Clio Drive Clio Manage
  1. Find the document in Clio Drive.
  2. Double-click the document to open it or right-click and select Open. Your document will open in the document creation application it was created in.
  3. Make your edits, and then click File > Save in the menu bar.

Tip: In your mac’s Finder, use Gallery view to see a preview of all documents in a single folder.

 

Delete files

When a document is deleted in Clio Drive, it is also deleted from Clio Manage. Similarly, when a documented is deleted in Clio Manage, it is also removed from Clio Drive.

  1. Go to Clio Drive and find the document.
  2. Right-click the document and select Move to Trash, or use the keyboard shortcut command + C (mac) or ctrl + C (Windows).
  3. Select Delete to confirm.

 

Recover files

You cannot undo a delete action or recover a deleted document in Clio Drive; however, you can recover a deleted document in Clio Manage for up to 30 days. In Clio Manage, a deleted document goes into a “hidden” state. To reveal and restore a deleted document:

  1. Go to Documents.
  2. Under Filters check Show trashed files, and then click Apply filters.
  3. Find the trashed document and click Restore.
  4. Refresh the page. In Clio Drive, you may need to wait a few seconds or leave a folder and go back in before the document reappears.

 

Clio Drive and data migration

It is recommended that you wait until data migration is complete before migrating files to Clio Drive. This is because contact and matter folders systems within Clio are not set up and synced during data migration. Once the data migration is complete, Clio will create a folder system in accordance with your contacts and matters in Clio Manage.

Once data migration is complete, you can create a standalone folder in Clio Manage and then move your firm’s files into this folder. When you connect Clio Drive, the files will sync.

Note: Moving large amounts of files from your previous system to Clio Manage in bulk may cause the system to freeze. We suggest moving files in smaller chunks.

 

Need more help?

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful