Account Users and Permissions

Have more questions? Submit a request

Change Primary Subscriber

Only the Primary Subscriber can transfer ownership of the account to an administrator at the firm. The steps for transferring account ownership depend on whether the Primary Subscriber is still at the firm or if the Primary Subscriber is no longer at the firm.

PS at firm PS not at firm

If the Primary Subscriber is still at the firm, they can transfer account ownership to another administrator at the firm.

  1. Go to Settings > Account and Payment Info > Account Administration.
  2. Under Transfer the role, choose the new Primary Subscriber.
  3. Click Transfer Primary Subscriber.

 

User permissions (Clio Manage)

In Clio Manage, there are four types of user permissions: Administrator, Accounts, Reports, and Billing. There are two additional visibility settings and restrictions for activity hours and billing rate. Learn more here.

Note: Only administrators can change permissions for other users. Administrators cannot edit their own permissions or permissions for the Primary Subscriber.

Administrator:
A user with administrator permissions can make any change in Clio, including deleting contacts and matters in bulk, editing activities in bulk, removing and adding permissions for other users, and exporting specific account data in bulk. In the Settings menu, only administrators have access to the following sections:
  • Account and Payment Info
  • Manage Users
  • Groups, Permissions, and Job Titles
  • Custom Fields
  • Recovery Bin
  • Bill Syncing
  • Aggregate Reporting Participation
  • Clio Payments
  • Matter Numbering
Accounts:
A user with accounts permissions can see the main Accounts tab and the Transactions subtab within a contact or matter. The user will be able to add trust and operating account information and add incoming and outgoing transactions. If this user also has Billing permissions, the user can accept bill payments and access the Billing tab.
Reports:
A user with reports permissions can see the Reports tab and generate reports.
Billing:
A user with Billing permissions can see the main Billing tab, the Bills subtab within a contact or matter, and the Billing section in Settings. The user can also edit and create bills and receive bill payments. Credit card payment notification emails will also be sent to this user. If Billing permissions are removed from a user who receives “reply to” emails for automated bill reminders, the emails will be redirected to the Primary Subscriber.

Tip: Permissions can also be applied to matters. Learn more about matter permissions in this article.

Note: If you remove permissions for a user, check that the user is not part of a group that has that permission. You can either remove the permission or the user from the group. Learn more about groups in the section below.

Manage user permissions in bulk Single user permissions

Follow the steps below to manage user permissions in bulk.

  1. Go to Settings > Groups, Permissions, and Job Titles > Permissions.
  2. Select or deselect which groups or users should have specific permissions.

 

User permissions (Clio Grow)

In Clio Grow, there are two permission types: Normal and Admin.

Normal:
This permission setting provides users with access to all areas of Clio Grow other than those limited to administrators.
Admin:
This permission setting is limited to administrators. Administrators can change user permissions for all other administrators and all normal users. Administrators can do the following:
  • View reports
  • Export contacts and matters
  • Invite and deactivate users
  • Add or remove licenses
  • Update billing information

Follow the steps below to change user permissions in Clio Grow:

  1. Got to Settings > Account.
  2. In the User settings section, click the blue Admin or Normal link under the Permission column.
  3. Select the appropriate permission.
  4. Click Assign permission.

 

User groups

Groups are categories of firm users that can be assigned to certain matters. You can use groups when setting matter and calendar permissions and for custom billing rates for contacts. Once a group is created, you can add and remove members by editing it and you can archive groups that you no longer need. The Matter assignment column will show whether the group is assigned to a matter.  

Note: Only users with administrator permissions can create and modify groups.

Create group Edit group Archive group Unarchive group
  1. Go to Settings > Groups, Permissions, and Job Titles > Groups.
  2. Click New group.
  3. Enter the group name and description.
  4. Optional: Check the box for Exclude this group from custom billing rate if you do not want this group to appear as an option when setting a custom billing rate for a matter or contact.
  5. In the Group Members section, add firm users to the group. You can click the blue minus symbol next to a user's name to remove them from the group. 
  6. Click Save group.

 

User activity

You can get an understanding of the entire account’s activity in the Firm Feed, but you can also view an individual user’s firm activity in Settings.

Note: Only users with administrator permissions can create and modify groups.

  1. Go to Settings > Manage Users.
  2. Click the user’s name.
  3. View activity for the user in the Firm Feed section.
  4. Click the Filter dropdown to view other users’ activity, view the type of activity, and view only activity that the user deleted.

 

Need more help?

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful